skip navigation

Mr. Football Finalists Announced

By Webmaster, 11/12/18, 8:00PM CST


November 13, 2018



The Elite Eleven finalists for the 2018 Mr. Football Award have been announced by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA).

The Mr. Football Award is sponsored by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA) and the Minnesota Vikings.

The Mr. Football Award was first presented in 2004, with the first winner being Nick Mertens of East Grand Forks High School. The 2017 Mr. Football Award winner was Antonio Montero, Eden Prairie.

The 2018 Mr. Football Award will be presented at the Mr. Football Banquet on Sunday, December 16th (9:00 AM) at the Doubletree by Hilton Minneapolis Park Place Hotel (hotel address: 1500 Park Place Blvd., Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55416).

The 11 finalists for the 2018 Mr. Football Award (in alphabetical order) are:

Name                          School                      Position           Sub-District                             Class

Bryce Benhart             Lakeville North          OL                     Metro South                                    5A

Matt Cavanaugh         Edina                         LB/RB/P/K        Metro East                                      6A                       

Alex Folz                     Spring Grove             QB/S/P/K          9 South East                                   9M

Nick McCabe              Caledonia                  RB/LB               SE White                                        2A

Cade Plath                  Chanhassen              LB/FB               Suburban White                              5A           

David Roddy               Breck                         QB/DE/P          Twin City Red                                 3A

Luke Ryan                   BOLD                        WR/DB/K/P      Mid State 2                                     1A

Treyton Welch             Buffalo                       WR/LB              No Central Blue                              6A

Brandon Westberg      Cambridge                OL                     No Central Blue                              5A

Jason Williamson        Owatonna                  RB/FS               Big SE Red                                     5A

Cole Woodford            Redwood Valley        WR/DB/R/K      So Central White                            2A

Mr. Football Award Criteria:

  • Nominee must be a graduating senior.
  • Nominee’s Head Coach must be a current member of the MFCA.
  • Nominee must not have any MSHSL violations.
  • Each player must be nominated by their Sub-District/MFCA representative, after being selected by the coaches in each Sub-district.

Previous winners of the Mr. Football Award:

2017 – Antonio Montero, Eden Prairie

2016 – Wade Sullivan, Lakeville North

2015 – J.D. Spielman, Eden Prairie

2014 – Robbie Grimsley, Hutchinson

2013 - Jeffrey Jones, Minneapolis Washburn

2012 - Bridgeport Tusler, Osseo

2011 - Philip Nelson, Mankato West

2010 - Peter Westerhaus, Holy Family Catholic

2009 - Zach Vraa, Rosemount

2008 - Varmah Sonie, Apple Valley

2007 - Michael Floyd, Cretin-Derham Hall

2006 - Blake Sorensen, Eden Prairie

2005 - Matt Carufel, Cretin-Derham Hall

2004 - Nick Mertens, East Grand Forks

Questions may be directed to Mr. Football Committee Chair Rick Sutton at or    (612) 860-6624.

If you plan to attend the Mr. Football Banquet, please notify Jim Dotseth (