skip navigation


By Webmaster, 11/22/22, 9:30PM CST


November 22, 2022


Printer Friendly Version

The Elite Ten finalists for the 2022 Mr. Football Award have been announced by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA).

The Mr. Football Award is sponsored by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA) and the Minnesota Vikings.

The Mr. Football Award was first presented in 2004, with the first winner being Nick Mertens of East Grand Forks High School. The 2021 Mr. Football Award winner was Emmett Johnson, Academy of Holy Angels.

The 2022 Mr. Football Award will be presented at the Mr. Football Banquet on Sunday, December 18th (9:30 AM) at the Doubletree by Hilton Minneapolis Park Place Hotel (hotel address: 1500 Park Place Blvd., Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55416).

The 10 finalists for the 2022 Mr. Football Award (in alphabetical order) are:

Name School Position Sub-District Class
Sam Backer Chatfield QB/RB/SS Southeast-White 2A
Ryan Bengtson Becker QB North Central-White 4A
Kade Gilbertson Rosemount TB/LB Metro-Gold-South 6A
Carson Hansen Lakeville South RB/S/PR Metro-Gold-South 6A
Maxwell McEnelly Waconia RB/LB Suburban-White 5A
Cade Osterman Elk River QB/DB/PR North Central-Black 5A
Tanner Scheevel Lester Prairie RB/S/P/K Mid Southeast-Red 1A
Max Shikenjanski  Stillwater Area QB Metro-Maroon-North 6A
Jordan Summers Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton RB/LB Midwest-Red 3A
Reese Tripp Kasson-Mantorville OG/DT Big Southeast-Blue 4A

Mr. Football Award Criteria:

  • Nominee must be a graduating senior.
  • Nominee’s Head Coach must be a current member of the MFCA.
  • Nominee must not have any MSHSL violations.
  • Each player must be nominated by their Sub-District/MFCA representative, after being selected by the coaches in each Sub-district.

Previous winners of the Mr. Football Award:

2021 - Emmett Johnson, Academy of Holy Angels

2020 - Jake Ratzlaff, Rosemount

2019 - Jalen Suggs, SMB Wolfpack

2018 - Jason Williamson, Owatonna

2017 - Antonio Montero, Eden Prairie

2016 - Wade Sullivan, Lakeville North

2015 - J.D. Spielman, Eden Prairie

2014 - Robbie Grimsley, Hutchinson

2013 - Jeffrey Jones, Minneapolis Washburn

2012 - Bridgeport Tusler, Osseo

2011 - Philip Nelson, Mankato West

2010 - Peter Westerhaus, Holy Family Catholic

2009 - Zach Vraa, Rosemount

2008 - Varmah Sonie, Apple Valley

2007 - Michael Floyd, Cretin-Derham Hall

2006 - Blake Sorensen, Eden Prairie

2005 - Matt Carufel, Cretin-Derham Hall

2004 - Nick Mertens, East Grand Forks

Questions may be directed to Mr. Football Committee Chair Clay Anderson at or (507) 215-5559.