skip navigation

Mr. Football Finalists Announced

By Webmaster, 12/09/20, 10:15AM CST



The Elite Ten finalists for the 2020 Mr. Football Award have been announced by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA).

The Mr. Football Award is sponsored by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA) and the Minnesota Vikings.
The Mr. Football Award was first presented in 2004, with the first winner being Nick Mertens of East Grand Forks High School. The 2019 Mr. Football Award winner was Jalen Suggs, SMB Wolfpack.

The 2020 Mr. Football Award will be presented at a later date.

The 10 finalists for the 2020 Mr. Football Award (in alphabetical order) are:

Name School Position Sub-District Class
Shea Albrecht Orono OT/DT Suburban-Red 4A
Joe Alt Totino-Grace TE/OT Metro-North 6A
Cameron Anderson Blue Earth Area WR/S South Central-White 2A
Trey Feeney Moorhead QB North Central-Red 5A
Nick Flaskamp Minneapolis Southwest RB/LB Twin City-Gold 5A
Marcus Hansen Waseca DE/G/K South Central-Red 3A
Eli Mau Chanhassen LB/TE/P/K Suburban-White 5A
Jake Ratzlaff Rosemount SS/TE Metro-South 6A
Garrison Solliday St. Thomas Academy DL/DE Suburban-Maroon 5A
Adam Tonsfeldt Barnesville QB/SS Midwest-White 2A

Mr. Football Award Criteria:

  • Nominee must be a graduating senior.
  • Nominee’s Head Coach must be a current member of the MFCA.
  • Nominee must not have any MSHSL violations.
  • Each player must be nominated by their Sub-District/MFCA representative, after being selected by the coaches in each Sub-district.

Previous winners of the Mr. Football Award:

2019 - Jalen Suggs, SMB Wolfpack

2018 - Jason Williamson, Owatonna

2017 - Antonio Montero, Eden Prairie

2016 - Wade Sullivan, Lakeville North

2015 - J.D. Spielman, Eden Prairie

2014 - Robbie Grimsley, Hutchinson

2013 - Jeffrey Jones, Minneapolis Washburn

2012 - Bridgeport Tusler, Osseo

2011 - Philip Nelson, Mankato West

2010 - Peter Westerhaus, Holy Family Catholic

2009 - Zach Vraa, Rosemount

2008 - Varmah Sonie, Apple Valley

2007 - Michael Floyd, Cretin-Derham Hall

2006 - Blake Sorensen, Eden Prairie

2005 - Matt Carufel, Cretin-Derham Hall

2004 - Nick Mertens, East Grand Forks

Questions may be directed to Mr. Football Committee Chair Clay Anderson at or (507) 215-5559.