skip navigation

Ten Mr. Football Finalists Named

By Webmaster, 11/19/19, 8:00AM CST


November 18, 2019



The Elite Ten finalists for the 2019 Mr. Football Award have been announced by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA).

The Mr. Football Award is sponsored by the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA) and the Minnesota Vikings.

The Mr. Football Award was first presented in 2004, with the first winner being Nick Mertens of East Grand Forks High School. The 2018 Mr. Football Award winner was Jason Williamson of Owatonna.

The 2019 Mr. Football Award will be presented at the Mr. Football Banquet on Sunday, December 8th (8:30 AM) at the Doubletree by Hilton Minneapolis Park Place Hotel (hotel address: 1500 Park Place Blvd., Minneapolis, Minnesota, 55416).

The 10 finalists for the 2019 Mr. Football Award (in alphabetical order) are:

Name School Position Sub-District                      Class
Aidan Bouman Buffalo QB North Central-Blue 6A
Jonathan Kieren St. Anthony Village RB/LB Twin City-Suburban-Gold  4A
Noah King Caledonia QB/S Southeast-White 2A
TK Marshall Minneapolis Southwest RB/OLB Twin City-City-Blue 5A
RaJa Nelson Lakeville North QB/RB/R/DB Metro-South 6A
Jordan Sagedahl B O L D QB/SS Mid State-Sub District 2 1A
Abraham Stoesz Mountain Lake Area WR/DB/K/P 9 – South-West 9-Man
Jalen Suggs SMB Wolfpack QB Twin City-Suburban-Maroon  4A
Aaron Witt Winona DE/TE Big Southeast-Blue 4A
Hunter Zenzen Barnesville DE/LB/TE Midwest-White 2A

Mr. Football Banquet Info

December 8, 2019 @ 8:30 AM at the Doubletree Hilton Park Place Hotel, 1500 Park Place Blvd., St. Louis Park, MN 55416.

Price $17.50  Pick up tickets at the door.

Purchase Banquet Tickets - $17.50

Tickets will be picked up at the door the day of the event.

Honoree name to share table

Mr. Football Award Criteria:

  • Nominee must be a graduating senior.
  • Nominee’s Head Coach must be a current member of the MFCA.
  • Nominee must not have any MSHSL violations.
  • Each player must be nominated by their Sub-District/MFCA representative, after being selected by the coaches in each Sub-district.

Previous winners of the Mr. Football Award:

2018 – Jason Williamson, Owatonna
2017 – Antonio Montero, Eden Prairie
2016 – Wade Sullivan, Lakeville North
2015 – J.D. Spielman, Eden Prairie
2014 – Robbie Grimsley, Hutchinson
2013 - Jeffrey Jones, Minneapolis Washburn
2012 - Bridgeport Tusler, Osseo
2011 - Philip Nelson, Mankato West
2010 - Peter Westerhaus, Holy Family Catholic
2009 - Zach Vraa, Rosemount
2008 - Varmah Sonie, Apple Valley
2007 - Michael Floyd, Cretin-Derham Hall
2006 - Blake Sorensen, Eden Prairie
2005 - Matt Carufel, Cretin-Derham Hall
2004 - Nick Mertens, East Grand Forks

Questions may be directed to Mr. Football Committee Chair Clay Anderson at  or (507) 215-5559.

If you plan to attend the Mr. Football Banquet, please notify Jim Dotseth (